Distinguished Alumni

Lakeland College salutes its alumni who have made significant contributions or who have achieved major accomplishments after graduation with its distinguished alumni program.

Each year one alumnus per campus is selected as a distinguished alumni inductee from a list of potential candidates. Alumni selected for the honour must be:
  • a graduate of more than seven years from the date of nomination who has reached outstanding career success and who models leadership and community service, or
  • a graduate of less than seven years from the date of nomination who has been recognized with a national or international honour, a major championship or appointment to high office.
Nominees should exhibit one or more of Lakeland's values of learner success, integrity, respect, community, excellence and or innovation.

A plaque naming each alumni inductee with a description of their accomplishment or contribution is added to the Wall of Distinction at each of the Lloydminster and Vermilion campuses.

Candidates selected as a distinguished alumni are named every year. From 2010 - 2018 distinguished alumni were recognizes at convocation.
Starting in 2019 they will be recognized at the annual Awards Celebrations at each campus.

Recipients 2016 - present

Chris Cederstrand '04, Gary Moses '67, Sean Lessard '94, Mike Kotelko '82, Scott Musgrave, '87, Edmund Lefsrud, '65, Laryssa Whittaker, '91

Recipients 2010 - 2015

Albert Miller, '49 - Wendy Plandowski, '91 - Rob Saunders, '83 - Allan Shenfield, '49 - Margaret Page, '96 & '97 - Dr. Arthur (Bud) McGinnis, '41 - Brian Keating, '76 - Jason Holtby, '90 - John Morris, '06 - Derek Dedman, '09 - Robert McLeod, '89

Selection Criteria

Learn about the type of alumni we want to honour

Nomination Form

Nominations for 2022 awards will open August 1, 2021. Use the online form or an interactive pdf to make your nomination.