Lakeland welcomes six members to Board of Governors

< All News
September 18, 2017
Lakeland College is pleased to introduce a full Board of Governors with six new appointed members

“We had some public member vacancies on the board, so I’m very happy to announce that we finally have a full 12-member board after receiving orders-in-council from the Government of Alberta,” says Darrel Howell, chair of Lakeland’s Board of Governors.

Appointed public members

Jo-Ann Hall  Jo-Ann Hall
Ms. Hall is a former assistant deputy minister at Alberta Agriculture and Forestry. She has more than 30 years experience in the agriculture and food industries and has worked closely with many industry organizations including 4-H Alberta, agriculture societies, applied research groups and agriculture commodity groups. She is a director with Agriculture Financial Services Corporation and operates a small home-based business.

Ms. Hall holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Home Economics from the University of Alberta. She resides in Stony Plain, Alberta.
 Jenell Saskiw Jenelle Saskiw
Currently, Saskiw serves as the senior advisor for Alberta Counsel, a law firm in Edmonton, Alta. She previously served as the executive assistant with Legislative Services at the City of Lloydminster.

She is a former mayor and councillor of the Village of Marwayne. She served as a director with the Federation of Canadian Municipalities where she also acted as chair of the National Municipal Infrastructure and Transportation Committee, the National Rail Safety Working Group, the National Rail Proximity Initiative and the Railway Governance Committee. She was the vice president of Villages with the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association where she chaired the provincial Safe and Healthy Communities Committee and the Sustainability and Environment Committee.

Saskiw has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Augustana University. She lives in Marwayne, Alta.
  Dianne Harder Dianne Harder
Harder has more than 30 years’ experience as a communications specialist in the agriculture industry. Based in Red Deer, Alta., she began her career at CKRD-TV. She has also worked at KG Country Radio, providing daily farm reports and regular rodeo coverage.

Currently, she is a board member with the Westerner Park Red Deer. She has served as a public member on the Alberta Human Ecology and Home Economics Association and was a volunteer with the 2013 World Plowing Match Organizing Committee.

Harder holds a diploma in Radio Arts from Lethbridge College.
 Jay Woosaree Jay Woosaree
Woosaree has extensive environmental experience in reclamation, revegetation, native plant development and land stewardship.

He’s currently the president and senior researcher of Woosaree Environmental Inc. and is a board member with the Whitemud Equine and Learning Centre. He previously served as chair of the Lakeland College Conservation and Restoration Ecology program advisory committee. He has served as treasurer and president of the Alberta Soil Science Workshop, and treasurer with the Alberta Institute of Agrologists - Edmonton Chapter.

He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture from the University of Alberta and a Masters in Agriculture from the University of Nebraska. He lives in Edmonton, Alta.

Appointed internal members

  Debbie Holden Debbie Holden
Holden, Lakeland’s revenue and reporting analyst, is the incoming non-academic staff representative.

She holds an agribusiness and a herd health diploma from Lakeland, as well as an accounting and strategic measurement diploma from MacEwan University.

She lives on a small commercial cattle operation near Minburn, Alta.
 Rachel Lambert Rachel Lambert
Lambert is the board’s student representative. She is currently in Lakeland's Business Administration diploma accounting major program. She plans to earn a bachelor of commerce degree through the Lakeland College and Athabasca University collaborative program at the Lloydminster campus.

Lambert holds a diploma in Travel and Tourism from MacEwan University. She lives in Lloydminster, Alta.
                                                        These six people join current board members Darrel Howell, chair; Bryan Perkins, a public member and vice chair; Alice Wainwright-Stewart, president and chief executive officer; Jason Bazinet, public member; Linnea Goodhand, public member; and Wanjiku Kaai, academic staff member.

Lakeland thanks outgoing members Gary Moses, who completed his second term as a public member. Moses was vice-chair for his entire tenure and contributed greatly to the college; public member Scott Webb, whose business acumen and relationship with New Holland was invaluable to the board; student representative Zachary Hoskins-Janes, 2017 agribusiness grad; and Debbie Maddex, non-academic staff representative.