Equine Centre Calendar

Please note

The Equine Centre is still closed to the public.
 
All events/bookings that were scheduled in the Lakeland College Equine Centre are postponed indefinitely per direction of the provincial emergency health measures. See our COVID-19 page for more information about Lakeland's response.
 
 
Typically the centre is busy weekdays from 6 am to 5:30 pm for Ag Sciences Labs, and Monday through Thursday from 5:30 pm to 11:30 pm for Lakeland College Rodeo and Dog Club practices.
 
Open/public riding is currently unavailable.
 
Please see the tiles for more specific information.
 

Classes Weekdays Monday through Friday
Morning & Afternoon

Classes Weekdays Monday through Friday Morning & Afternoon

Agricultural sciences classes are in the facility weekdays between 6 am to 5:30 pm Monday through Friday.
 
This is throughout the academic year from September through April.

Club Schedule
Sun to Thurs 5 - 11pm

Club Schedule Sun to Thurs 5 - 11pm

Student clubs use the Equine Centre Sundays through Thursdays starting at 5 pm as follows:
 
Sundays
  • Ranch Horse Club - 5:30 -11 pm
Mondays
  • Team Roping, Breakaway Roping and Calf Roping - 5:30 - 8:30 pm
  • Dog Agility - 8:30 -11 pm
Tuesdays
  • ​Barrel Racing and Pole Bending - 5:30 - 11 pm
Wednesdays
 
  • Goat Tying and Steer Wrestling - 5:30 - 6:30 pm
  • Rough Stock - 6:30 - 11 pm
Thursdays
  • Team Roping - 5:30 - 8:30 pm
  • ​Ranch Horse - 8:30 - 11 pm

Open/Public
Riding

Open/Public Riding

Open/public riding times are as below, if the facility isn't booked for classes or other events:
  • Weekdays  from 8:00 am to 3:30 pm
  • Friday evenings 5:30 pm onward
  • Weekends
Nov 1, 2019 - ​Feb 28, 2020

A 4 month trial of one evening per week and some Saturday times of open riding will be available to the public.  For the 4 month period we are offering a $50 membership, which starts Nov. 1, 2019 and expires on February 28, 2020.  We are hoping these times will work for more people. To use these times provided you MUST have an arena membership.  These times will be reserved for public riding only. Everyone who purchases a membership will be added to an email or text list to be updated and notified if any changes occur.

There will also be additional afternoons and weekends for open riding as is the case now. If there is a majority interest of the membership dedicating an evening or part of the evening to a certain discipline, it will be planned for accordingly.

For questions or to purchase your membership, call Sharon at 780-853-8595 or stop in at the Farm Office.  You can also contact ​Ashley Watt at 780-581-5421 or ashley.watt@lakelandcollege.ca.

September 2020

September 2020

AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of September
Monday's to Friday's - 6 to 8 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of September
Tuesday's and Thursday's - 8 to 10 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of September
Monday's - 10 am to 12 pm
 
Arena Maintenance - all of September
Monday's - 1:30 to 3 pm
Tuesday's to Thursday's - 10:30 am to 12 pm
 
AN 132 - AST-Equine Course
Mon, Sept 15 - 10:30 am to 12:30 pm​
 
Basic Hoof Care for Horses (Con Ed course)
Fri, Sept 25 - 7 to 10 pm
Sat, Sept 26 - 9 am to 4:30 pm
Sun, Sept 27 - 9 am to 4:30 pm
 

October 2020

October 2020

AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of October
Monday's to Friday's - 6 to 8 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of October
Tuesday's and Thursday's - 8 to 10 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of October
Monday's - 10 am to 12 pm
 
Arena Maintenance - all of October
Monday's - 1:30 to 3 pm
Tuesday's to Thursday's - 10:30 am to 12 pm
 
AN 132 - AST-Equine Course
Tues, Oct 13 - 10:30 am to 12:30 pm​
 
Introductory Farrier (Con Ed course)
Thurs, Oct 15 - 7 to 10 pm
Fri, Oct 16 - 9 am to 4:30 pm
Sat, Oct 17 - 9 am to 4:30 pm
Sun, Oct 18 - 9 am to 4:30 pm
 
AST-Equine
Tues, Oct 27 - 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Wed, Oct 28 - 9:30 to 11:30 am
Thurs, Oct 29 - 1:30 to 3:30 pm
 

November 2020

November 2020

AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of November
Monday's to Friday's - 6 to 8 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of November
Tuesday's and Thursday's - 8 to 10 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - all of November
Monday's - 10 am to 12 pm 
 
Arena Maintenance - all of November
Monday's - 1:30 to 3 pm
Tuesday's to Thursday's - 10:30 am to 12 pm
 
Agility Club
Saturday, Nov 21 - 9 am to 5 pm
 
 
 
 
 
 

December 2020

December 2020

AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - till December 18
Monday's to Friday's - 6 to 8 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - till December 18
Tuesday's and Thursday's - 8 to 10 am
 
AN 365 - AST-Equine Course - till December 18
Monday's - 10 am to 12 pm 
 
Arena Maintenance - all of December
Monday's - 1:30 to 3 pm
Tuesday's to Thursday's - 10:30 am to 12 pm

January 2021

January 2021

​ Basic Hoof Care for Horse Con Ed Course
Sunday, Jan 31 - 8 am to 6 pm
 

February 2021

February 2021

 

March 2021

March 2021

Introductory Farrier Con Ed Course
Sunday, Mar 28 - 8 am to 6 pm 

May 2020

May 2020

Arena Maintenance
Fri May 1  7 - 8 am
 
High School Rodeo
Fri May 8  8 am - 11 pm
Sat May 9  8 am - 11 pm
Sun May 10   8 am - 11 pm
 
Green Certificate Farm Safety Course
Tue May 12  8 am - 8 pm​
 
Country Roots Equine 4H (indoor and outdoor arena)
Fri May 15  8 am - 11 pm
Sat May 16  8 am - 11 pm
Sun May 17  8 am - 11 pm
Mon May 18  8 am - 11 pm
 
Booked for Kathy Hunter
Sat, May 23  8 am - 8 pm
Sun, May 24  8 am - 8 pm
 
Vermilion Ag Society Light Horse Club
Sun May 31  8 am - 6 pm
 
 
 
 

June 2020

June 2020

LTCPA 
Fri, Jun 19 -  8 am - 11 pm
Sat, Jun 20 -  8 am - 11 pm
Sun, Jun 21 -  8 am - 11 pm
 
Little Cowpokes Junior Rodeo
Wed, Jun 24 - 3 - 9 pm ​

MORE RESOURCES