Equine Centre Calendar

Please note

The Equine Centre is closed. All events/bookings that were scheduled in the Lakeland College Equine Centre are postponed indefinitely per direction of the provincial emergency health measures. See our COVID-19 page for more information about Lakeland's response.
 
 
Typically the centre is busy weekday afternoons from ​3:30 pm to 5:30 pm for Ag Sciences Labs, and Monday through Thursday from 5:30 pm to 11:30 pm for Lakeland College Rodeo and Dog Club practices.
 
Open/public riding is available whenever the centre isn't in use for classes, clubs or an event.
 
Please see the tiles for more specific information.
 

Classes Weekdays Monday through Friday
Morning & Afternoon

Classes Weekdays Monday through Friday Morning & Afternoon

Agricultural sciences classes are in the facility weekdays between 3:30 to 5:30 pm Monday through Friday.
 
This is throughout the academic year from September through April.

Club Schedule
Sun to Thurs 5 - 11pm

Club Schedule Sun to Thurs 5 - 11pm

Student clubs use the Equine Centre Sundays through Thursdays starting at 5 pm as follows:
 
Sundays
  • Dog Agility Club 5 -7 pm
  • Ranch Horse Club 7 -11 pm
Mondays
  • Stock Dog Club 5:30 -7:30 pm
  • Rodeo Club 7:30-11:30 pm
Tuesdays
  • Rodeo Club 5:30 -11:30 pm
Wednesdays
 
  • Rodeo Club 5:30 pm -11:30 pm
  • 5:30 pm-6:30 pm Goat Tying
  • 6:30 pm-11:30 pm Rough Stock
Thursdays
  • Rodeo Club - 5:30 - 8:30 pm
  • Agility/Stock Dog Clubs 8:30 -10:30 pm

Open/Public
Riding

Open/Public Riding

Open/public riding times are as below, if the facility isn't booked for classes or other events:
  • Weekdays  from 8:00 am to 3:30 pm
  • Friday evenings 5:30 pm onward
  • Weekends
Nov 1, 2019 - ​Feb 28, 2020

A 4 month trial of one evening per week and some Saturday times of open riding will be available to the public.  For the 4 month period we are offering a $50 membership, which starts Nov. 1, 2019 and expires on February 28, 2020.  We are hoping these times will work for more people. To use these times provided you MUST have an arena membership.  These times will be reserved for public riding only. Everyone who purchases a membership will be added to an email or text list to be updated and notified if any changes occur.

There will also be additional afternoons and weekends for open riding as is the case now. If there is a majority interest of the membership dedicating an evening or part of the evening to a certain discipline, it will be planned for accordingly.

For questions or to purchase your membership, call Sharon at 780-853-8595 or stop in at the Farm Office.  You can also contact ​Ashley Watt at 780-581-5421 or ashley.watt@lakelandcollege.ca.

July 2020

July 2020

Little Cowpokes Junior Rodeo
Wed, Jul 8 - 3 - 9 pm
 
Little Cowpokes Junior Rodeo
Wed, Jul 15 - 3 - 9 pm
 
Little Cowpokes Junior Rodeo
Wed, Jul 29 - 3 - 9 pm
 
Wild Rose Ranch Roping
Fri, Jul 31 - 8 am - 11 pm​

August 2020

August 2020

Wild Rose Ranch Roping
Sat, Aug 1 - 8 am - 11 pm​
Sun, Aug 2 - 8 am - 11 pm
 
Little Cowpokes Junior Rodeo Finals
Sat, Aug 8
Sun, Aug 9
 
Lakeland Team Cattle Penners Association
Fri, Aug 14 - 8 am - 11 pm
Sat, Aug 15 - 8 am - 11 pm
Sun, Aug 16 - 8 am - 11 pm
 
NE Region 4H Horse Camp (indoor and outdoor arena)
Wed, Aug 19 - 8 am - 8 pm
Thu, Aug 20 - 8 am - 8 pm
Fri, Aug 21 - 8 am - 8 pm
Sat, Aug 22 - 8 am - 8 pm
 
Rusty Bit Horse Show (indoor and outdoor arena)
Sun, Aug 23 - 8 am - 5 pm​

September 2020

September 2020

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

January 2020

January 2020

Ground Maintenance
Tues Jan 7 12:30 - 2:30 pm
 
Private Booking
Wed Jan 8  6 - 9 pm​
 
Deb Guelly Barrel Racing Clinic 
Sat Jan 11  8 am - 5 pm
Sun Jan 12  8 am - 5 pm
 
Barrel Racing Jackpot
Fri Jan 17 3:30 - 9 pm​
 
Vermilion 4-H Light Horse Club
Sun Jan 19, 8 am - 5 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Jan 22, 8 - 9 am ​
 
Ranch Rodeo
Fri Jan 24 6 - 11 pm
 
Vermilion 4-H Light Horse Club
Sun Jan 26, 8 am - 5 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Jan 27  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Jan 29  8 - 9 am
  
Fun Rodeo
Wed Jan 29 6:30 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Mar 31 8 - 9 am​
 
Barrel Racing Jackpot
Fri Jan 31 3:30 - 9 pm

February 2020

February 2020

Agility Clinic
Sat Feb 1  8 am - 9 pm
Sun Feb 2  8 am - 9 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Feb 3  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Feb 5  8 - 9 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Feb 7  8 - 9 am​
 
Ranch Rodeo
Fri Feb 7  6 - 11 pm​
 
You Be The Judge - 4H
Sat Feb 8  8:30 am -12:30 pm
 
Vermilion 4H Light Horse Club
Sun Feb 9  8 am - 4 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Feb 10  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
VS 208 Equine Lab
​Tue Feb 1​1 ​ 10:30 am - 1:30 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Feb ​12  8:30 - 9:30 am
  
Arena Maintenance
Fri Feb 14 8:30 - 9:30 am​
 
Barrel Racing Saddle Series Make-Up
Fri Feb 14  ​7 - 10 pm
 
Booked for Justin Volz
Sat Feb 15  12 - 4 pm​
 
Vermilion 4H Light Horse Club
Sun Feb 16  8 am - 4 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Feb 17  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Feb 19  8 - 9 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Feb 21  8 - 9 am
 
Basic Hoof Care for Horses (south end of Arena Barn)
Fri Feb 21  7 - 10 pm
Sat Feb 22  8 am - 5 pm
Sun Feb 23  8 am - 5 pm
 
Country Roots Equine 4-H
Sun Feb 23 12 - 5 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Feb 24  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Feb 26  8 - 9 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Feb 28  8 - 9 am
 
Barrel Racing Jackpot
Fri Feb 28  7 - 10 pm
 
Breakaway/Team Roping Jackpot
Sat Feb 29  9 am - 6 pm​

March 2020

March 2020

AST - Equine Event
Mar 1 10 am - 4 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Mar 2  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Mar 4  8 - 9 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Mar 6  8 - 9 am​
 
Stock Dog Clinic
Sat Mar 7  8 am - 8 pm 
Sun Mar 8  8 am - 5 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Mar 9  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
AHT Class
Tue Mar 10 9:30 am - 12:30 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Mar 11 8 - 9 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Mar 13 7 - 8 am​
 
Judging
Fri Mar 13  7 am - 4:30 pm
 
Ranch Rodeo - CANCELED
Fri Mar 13  6 - 11 pm
 
Little Royal Rodeo - CANCELED
Sat Mar 14  Slack 2:30 pm, performance 7 pm
Sun Mar 15  Slack: 10:00 am, performance 2 pm
 

Due to public concerns with the recent cases of strangles occurring on campus late last week, we have decided to cancel the Little Royal Rodeo and Ranch Rodeo for this year in order to be fair to CIRA contestants that do not want to risk unnecessary exposure.  At this time, it appears that re-scheduling the rodeo will not be an option.  We would like to reiterate that Vermilion campus is NOT in quarantine, and that the three infected horses have been isolated and are being managed according to veterinary protocol. No new cases have been discovered and we will continue diligently monitoring all animals on campus. 

Stockman's Club Steer & Heifer Show
Sat Mar 14  6 am - 1 pm​
 
Rodeo Team
Sun Mar 15  1 - 4 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Mar 16 8:30 - 9:30 am
 
AHT Bandaging Lab (Arena Barn area)
Mon Mar 16  10:30 am - 12:30 pm
Mon Mar 16  1:30 - 3:30 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Mar 18 8 - 9 am​
 
AHT Class
Wed Mar 18 9:30 am - 12:30 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Mar 20 7:30 - 8:30 am​
 
Bull Riding School - CANCELED
Fri Mar 20  8:30 am - 5 pm
Sat Mar 21  9 am - 5 pm 
Sun Mar 22  9 am - 5 pm 
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Mar 23 8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Mar 25 8 - 9 am​
 
AHT Class
Wed Mar 25  9:30 am - 12:30 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Mar 27 8 - 9 am​
 
Country Roots Equine 4H
Fri Mar 27 5:30 pm - 11 pm​
 
Stock Dog Clinic
Sat Mar 28  8 am - 6 pm
Sun Mar 29 8 am - 6 pm
 
Basic Hoof Care for Horses Course (barn area)
Fri Mar 27  7 pm - 10 pm
Sat Mar 28  9 am - 4:30 pm
Sun Mar 29  9 am - 4:30 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Mar 30 8 - 9 am​
 
 

April 2020

April 2020

Arena Maintenance
Wed Apr 1  8 - 9 am
 
AHT Class
Thu Apr 2 9:30 am - 12:30 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Apr 3  6:30 - 7 am​
 
AST Equine:  Cow Horses and Cowboys Competition
Ranch Rodeo
Fri Apr 3  7 - 11 pm 
Sat Apr 4  8 am - 11 pm  CRRA Ranch Roping/Top Hand Competition
Sun Apr 5  8:00 am - 5 pm  CRRA Ranch Roping
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Apr 6  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Apr 8  8 - 9 am
 
Introductory Farrier Course (barn area)
Thu Apr 9  7 pm - 10 pm
Fri Apr 10  9 am - 4:30 pm
Sat Apr 11  9 am - 4:30 pm
Sun Apr 12  9 am - 4:30 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Apr 10  8 - 9 am
 
Country Roots 4H
Sun Apr 12  12 - 5 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Apr 13  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Apr 15  8 - 9 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Apr 17  8 - 9 am
 
Vermilion Ag Society Light Horse Club
Sat Apr 18  8 am - 6 pm​
 
Vermilion Light Horse Club
Sun Apr 19  8 am - 4 pm
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Apr 20  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
AN 341 Final Riding Exam
Tue Apr 21  8:30 am - 2:30 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Apr 22  8 - 9 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Fri Apr 24  8 - 9 am
 
Vermilion Ag Society Light Horse Club
Sat Apr 25  8 am - 6 pm​
 
Vermilion 4H Beef Club
Sun Apr 26  8 am - 8 pm​
 
Arena Maintenance
Mon Apr 27  8:30 - 9:30 am
 
Arena Maintenance
Wed Apr 29  8 - 9 am​

May 2020

May 2020

Arena Maintenance
Fri May 1  7 - 8 am
 
High School Rodeo
Fri May 8  8 am - 11 pm
Sat May 9  8 am - 11 pm
Sun May 10   8 am - 11 pm
 
Green Certificate Farm Safety Course
Tue May 12  8 am - 8 pm​
 
Country Roots Equine 4H (indoor and outdoor arena)
Fri May 15  8 am - 11 pm
Sat May 16  8 am - 11 pm
Sun May 17  8 am - 11 pm
Mon May 18  8 am - 11 pm
 
Booked for Kathy Hunter
Sat, May 23  8 am - 8 pm
Sun, May 24  8 am - 8 pm
 
Vermilion Ag Society Light Horse Club
Sun May 31  8 am - 6 pm
 
 
 
 

June 2020

June 2020

LTCPA 
Fri, Jun 19 -  8 am - 11 pm
Sat, Jun 20 -  8 am - 11 pm
Sun, Jun 21 -  8 am - 11 pm
 
Little Cowpokes Junior Rodeo
Wed, Jun 24 - 3 - 9 pm ​

MORE RESOURCES